Hello? Is this thing on? If so, Welcome, to my blog!

Hello? Is this thing on? If so, Welcome, to my blog!

Welcome to the Brightside!

I thought I would say hello, and publish my first blog, which is long overdue.

via GIPHY

Hi there! I'm Brittany, and I am so glad that you are here. I'm a Software Engineer with #100devs and thankfully, Hashnode allows me to share my journey. I've always been very tech-curious. I made my first blog as a college student on WordPress in 2015. Shortly after college, I accepted a job offer in Washington, DC for opportunities in communications, digital marketing, and website management.

Now, I'm back in Texas serving as a Social Studies teacher who has 155 students every year. I decided to learn how to code during shutdowns. However, I struggled to learn on my own, and let go of my CodeCademy account.

But, one day, everything changed!

via GIPHY

While laying in bed, I decided to download Twitter and create an account to get involved with the tech community.

Then guess what!? It was like a sign sent from God! One of the first things I saw was a tweet about #100devs, and ever since then I've been on a developer kick, and I can't go back.

This journey has been both amazing and challenging, but I wouldn't take it back for the world. I've made amazing friends, and as someone who was never good at math or science, I feel like I can do anything!

So, let me share just a few fun facts!

1 - I love to dance, and I am a huge #STEAM advocate. I love hip-hop, merengue, swing, and bachata, and I was also once on a professional hip-hop and high heels dance team.

via GIPHY

2 - I am a karaoke enthusiast, and I am that friend that will be on stage singing and dancing the night away, because, let's face it, I love a crowd.

via GIPHY

##3 - I love historic preservation and I have always had a passion for history and joining in on efforts to preserve historical places and endangered spaces.

32834984_1160180794122269_3404721030529286144_n.jpg

4 - I love serving in my community. I'm a certified Life coach and End of Life Doula. I use my knowledge and background to serve families and their loved ones in their last stages of life.

277800261_2416559158484420_6615331722130686379_n.jpg

5 - Finally, I love French cuisine, and my favorite dish is, L’Entrecôte de Bœuf Poêlée from Artisans in Houston.

via GIPHY

Well, that's all for now! I hope you learned something new. Please feel free to follow, like, and share. I can't wait to share more with you as this journey continues! Continue to be your amazing self, and as always, have a blessed day!